Back and Board

June 11, 2010 at 8:40 am 1 comment

I’m back from an amazing vacation in Hawaii.  Highlights included running on a lava lake, exploring an undeveloped section of a lava tube, watching eruptions at night and from a helicopter, snorkeling in Kealakekua Bay with a dozen or more (hard to count fins on other sides of the bay) dolphins leaping and spinning around us, and watching fireworks while sitting in the warm sand at Waikiki.  I discovered again that I find surfing frustrating, and I newly discovered how much I enjoy Hawaiian Poke.

My inbox has an enormous unread count on it, of course.  My iPad arrived while I was gone, so I’m having fun using that to wade through the massive pile of missives.  Not all of my attention is on the email, though, since I am teaching five days of workshops in Massachusetts starting Monday.  This will be my first time to teach Scratch and only my second to teach Alice with Media Computation, and I have materials to prepare today.  I’m attending the last DCCE meeting of the year tomorrow.  If your note to me is in my inbox unread, my apologies and I’ll get to it as soon as I can, but probably not until next week.

One piece of relevant news.  You may recall that I posted my SIGCSE Board statement here last January. The election results were announced this last week, I’m honored to have been elected.  I am now a member of the ACM SIGCSE Board for the next three years, as one of the “members at large.”  It’s a great group of people on the Board, and I look forward to serving with them.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Evaluation as a Voice for the Kids in the Back of the Room Core National Standards released: Got Computing?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Paul Gestwicki  |  June 11, 2010 at 8:53 am

    I’m glad you got on the SIGCSE board, and I’m sure you’ll be a great representative for the community.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 940,379 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,012 other followers

CS Teaching Tips


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,012 other followers

