Using Education Theory to Frame CER: HCIL Invited Lecture

February 27, 2013 at 1:09 am 3 comments

I gave a talk on 19 February at HCIL at U. Maryland-College Park.  I was pleased with how it turned out.  One of the things I learned when I gave my Indiana talks was that I ought to frame my talk with how I define learning and what theoretical frameworks I’m drawing on (e.g., learning sciences, constructionism, situated learning, community of practice, and authenticity).  This was my first talk where I tried to do that, and I liked how I could keep referencing back to the theory as I went along.  The talk gave me a chance to connect my work in computing education research (CER) to a broader education theory.

HCIL 30th Anniversary Distinguished Lecturer Series: Mark Guzdial, Georgia Tech – YouTube.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

NYC to teach computer science and software engineering in 20 schools Connecticut aims to grow STEM enrollment

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bri Morrison  |  February 27, 2013 at 9:33 am

    Did you mean constructionism (Papert) or constructivism (Vygotsky)? Been doing lots of thinking of the N vs. the V words these days…

    Reply
    • 2. Mark Guzdial  |  February 27, 2013 at 9:51 am

      I meant “n” not “v”. Thanks — I’ve fixed.

      Reply
  • 3. Lenandlar Singh  |  March 2, 2013 at 8:24 pm

    I really like it that CS researchers are beginning to situate CS education research in the context of education frameworks and education theory

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11.4K other subscribers

Feeds

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 2,096,541 hits
February 2013
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

CS Teaching Tips